Red Sky at Morning, Sailor Take Warning

Red Sky at Morning, Sailor Take Warning

This little box is my contribution to the Northern Kentucky Printmakers‘ show “So They Say: Wisdom & Foolishness,” currently hanging at the Carnegie in Covington, Kentucky. (Up through Valentines Day 2014.)

For the show, we took common sayings, both wise and foolish, and created a piece around it. My piece represents a silly-sounding saying that’s actually a piece of wisdom. It’s one my father shared with me when I was a kid, and we were floating around on the water of a nearby lake. The girl is a figure from a series I’m working on (the others are acrylic & watercolor, though this one is screenprinted). She features doodles of tattoos in the American Traditional style, a nod to the nautical history from whence this piece of wisdom emerged.

bottlesdeetThe tiny bottles are full of things we pick up and carry–shark’s teeth, tiny shells, and even a message in a bottle. There’s imported black tea, because I think it’s beautiful. (Yeah, there’s glitter, too. Some of us have a glitter problem.) The piece is topped with bone bead skulls. It occurs to me that I have no idea what they’re made of–tiny sailors perhaps?

Leave a Reply

